Welcome to the ACT Member Network

ACT Members, Please Nominate a Colleague for a Prestigious ACT Award



The American College of Toxicology recognizes outstanding toxicologists during the Awards Ceremony and Luncheon held during the ACT Annual Meeting. All nominations received by an ACT member in good standing by the required deadline will be reviewed by the Awards Committee.

Submissions received after the deadline will be considered for the following year. Should your nominated candidate not be selected, the nominee will automatically be considered for a second year. Nominators are encouraged to provide updated curriculum vitae and rationales for nominations that were submitted the previous year. After two years, a new nomination must be submitted.

Use the online Award System to complete your nomination or application submission for self-nomination. The criteria and deadlines are listed below:






Distinguished Scientist Award in Toxicology


Recognizes an individual (not necessarily a member of ACT) who has made outstanding contributions to toxicology and improvement of public health and/or the environment. The DSA winner becomes the keynote speaker at the Awards Ceremony and Luncheon during the Annual Meeting.

Mildred Christian Women’s Leadership in Toxicology Award


This award, in memory of Mildred Christian, is presented to a woman who has made a difference in advancing the science and practice of toxicology and who has attained industry/government/academia recognition as a global leader in this field. The individual should be a woman who demonstrates many of Dr. Christian’s defining characteristics including: leadership, inclusiveness, collaboration, perseverance, and devotion to ACT’s goals to Educate, to Lead, and to Serve. Candidates may come from many fields (the pharmaceutical or chemistry industries, contract research organizations, government agencies, academia) but must be a current member of the College.

Service Award

Recognizes an individual for their long-term dedication, noteworthy contributions, and service to the American College of Toxicology. Criteria for selection includes but is not limited to service to the College (e.g., councilor, officer, committee member), frequent participation and contribution to the Annual Meeting (speaker, chairperson, organizing committee), and longstanding support of the College’s activities and mission. The recipient must be a member of ACT.

Carol C. Lemire Unsung Hero Award 


Recognizes an ACT member who has made substantive unrecognized contributions to ACT. The nominee should have demonstrated an on-going willingness to help in ACT activities and mission, generally “behind the scenes.” This person cannot have held an elected Council office within the past three years.

Early Career Professional Award


Recognizes an ACT member with no more than 10 years of full-time employment experience since completing the highest degree (including postdoctoral fellow training). The nominee must have demonstrated outstanding service to the College, including serving as an officer, councilor, committee member, and/or frequent participation and contribution at the Annual Meeting or any other College activity (i.e., speaker, chairperson, organizing committee, etc.).

Best Paper Published in International Journal of Toxicology


Recognizes the authors of the best paper published in the journal. Papers that will be eligible for the Best Paper award will be those published in the previous calendar year.

Award nominations are now being accepted! The committee is particularly in need of nominations for the Unsung Hero Award and the Distinguished Scientist Award in Toxicology. 

Recent Stories
Annual Meeting Events as Unique as You

ACT Virtual 41st Annual Meeting Registration Open: Bringing Austin to You!

Save the Date: Late-Breaking Abstracts Will Be Accepted Starting August 1